LED wall buyer’s guide

What an LED wall really costs.

Real installed prices, why the same wall can be quoted at $11,000 or at $300,000, and what actually matters, explained for people who have never bought an LED wall.

Written for churches and businesses who want straight numbers before they talk to anyone selling panels.

From the Limitless AVL team. Updated October 2026.

The short answer

A professionally installed 16 by 9 foot indoor LED wall, the most common size behind a church stage, costs about $40,000 to $80,000 with the P2.5 to P3.9 panels most rooms use. Fine pitch for close seats runs $100,000 to $165,000, and flagship walls reach $300,000 or more. That is roughly $280 to $2,100 per square foot. The $11,000 walls in online ads are panel prices. Delivered with a processor, freight and duties, that same import wall costs $20,000 to $35,000, before anyone hangs it, powers it or makes it look right on your livestream.

If you saw a low price online and saved toward it, you are not alone. The ads show the panel price, not the wall. The key numbers are right below. Every topic after that opens with a tap, and the plain-English word list explains every term.

Fast answers

Ten things to know before you get a quote.

  1. The ad price is not the wall price.An $11,000 listing for a 16 by 9 foot wall is panels at the factory. Delivered with a processor, freight and duties, it is $20,000 to $35,000. Installed, it is $40,000 to $50,000.
  2. Installed, a 16 by 9 foot wall costs $40,000 to $80,000.That covers P2.5 to P3.9 panels, the most common for sanctuaries. Fine pitch runs $100,000 to $165,000. Flagship walls reach $300,000.
  3. Under $20,000, wait on LED.A large display, a 2 by 2 TV wall or a projector will serve you better while you save. A cheap LED wall usually gets bought twice.
  4. Buy the wall through the integrator who installs it.One company then owns the panels, hanging, power, setup and warranty. Panels bought online and handed to an installer usually cost more by the end.
  5. Pick pixel pitch from your closest seat.Feet to your front row divided by 6.5 is the coarsest pitch that looks smooth. 20 feet points to about P3. Go one step finer if you stream or show small text.
  6. If you stream, demand camera specs.Refresh rate of 3,840 Hz at the brightness you run, usually 10 to 30 percent, and 7,680 Hz if you can. Scan ratio of 1/16 or lower. Otherwise expect banding and rolling on your stream.
  7. The processor needs SDI and genlock at minimum.A NovaStar VX600 Pro class unit is our minimum for streaming churches. Camera tools from NovaStar or Brompton only work with the matching card in every panel.
  8. SMD, GOB or COB is how the LEDs are built.SMD is standard and easiest to repair. Put GOB or COB anywhere hands, balls or kids can reach the wall.
  9. Plan power before you buy.A 16 by 9 wall needs 2 to 4 dedicated 20 amp circuits at 208 volts, or 4 to 6 at 120 volts, plus one 120 volt circuit for the processor.
  10. Get the listing, spares and price in writing.A UL or ETL listing for the exact model, 5 to 10 percent spare modules from the same production run, and a delivered price with a date.
Real price ranges

The same 16 by 9 foot wall, seven ways.

A 16 by 9 foot wall is 144 square feet, a common size behind a church stage or in a large lobby. Here is what that one wall costs depending on how you buy it. The first three rows are hardware only. The last four are the price a church or business pays an integrator for a finished, working wall.

How you buy it What you actually get Per sq ft 16 x 9 ft wall
The ad price Panels, and sometimes a basic controller, priced at the factory. Not delivered, not complete, not installed. $75 to $140 $11,000 to $20,000 on the listing
Import wall, delivered Panels, processor, hanging bars and spares, delivered with freight, duties and tariffs paid. Still nobody to hang, power or set it up. $140 to $245 $20,000 to $35,000
US online “turnkey” kit Panels and a processor from a US reseller, shipped. Hardware only. $220 to $300 $32,000 to $43,000
Installed, value import brand P2.6 to P3.9 import panels, fully installed: hanging hardware, power, signal, labor, setup, calibration and training. Usually a 2 year warranty with parts from overseas. $280 to $350 $40,000 to $50,000
Installed, established brand P2.5 to P2.9 panels with a US safety listing and US service centers, fully installed. Camera performance still varies by model, so check the specs below. $350 to $555 $50,000 to $80,000
Installed, fine pitch P1.5 to P1.9 for close seats, lobbies and heavy camera use, fully installed. $695 to $1,150 $100,000 to $165,000
Installed, flagship P1.2 and finer, COB or flip-chip LEDs, top broadcast brands and processing, fully installed. $1,150 to $2,100 and up $165,000 to $300,000 and up
What our own quotes showed. When we priced 12 foot wide church walls this fall, about 78 square feet each, the options worked out to these prices for the church, fully installed with hanging hardware: about $20,000 to $23,000 for a value import at P2.6, $31,000 to $35,000 for an established brand at P2.5, $57,000 to $62,000 for the same brand at P1.5, and $92,000 to $97,000 for a P1.9 wall from another maker. Same size, same room, more than four times apart. None of the manufacturer quotes included the shackles, strut and chain or wire rope it takes to hang the wall. Those are extra on every wall.

How these were built: ad prices from factory and marketplace listings, delivered import prices from our own 2026 factory quotes with freight and duties, kit prices from US online listings in October 2026, and installed ranges from our own 2026 manufacturer quotes at the price a customer pays. Every installed number includes hanging hardware, power, signal, labor and a contingency, and we rounded up on purpose. Flagship pricing is checked against Samsung’s The Wall All-in-One 110 inch, listed at $69,999 for about 36 square feet of P1.26 screen before installation. Outdoor walls cost more and need different specs. Sources are at the bottom of this page.

Your budget

What your budget buys today, installed.

Budget What it realistically buys
Under $20,000 Not a permanent LED wall at sanctuary size. Better for now: a large commercial display, a 2 by 2 TV wall, or a projector and screen, while you keep saving.
$20,000 to $30,000 A small value import LED wall about 11 to 12 feet wide, roughly 75 square feet, at P2.6.
$30,000 to $40,000 A 12 foot wide established brand wall at P2.5 with US service, or a value import wall up to about 14 feet wide.
$40,000 to $50,000 A 16 by 9 foot value import wall, P2.6 to P3.9.
$50,000 to $80,000 A 16 by 9 foot established brand wall with US service, P2.5 to P2.9.
$100,000 to $165,000 A 16 by 9 foot fine pitch wall, P1.5 to P1.9.
$165,000 and up Flagship fine pitch, P1.2 and finer.

If you are in the first row, put the money toward something that works well today and keep saving, rather than stretching for a cheap LED wall you will end up replacing. We will tell you honestly which side of that line you are on.

How to choose

How to pick the right wall for your room, in six steps.

  1. Measure the room.Get the distance from the wall to your closest seat, the clear width, the maximum height and what the wall will hang from. Feet to the front row divided by 6.5 gives the coarsest pitch that still looks smooth. Pitch chart.
  2. Decide what cameras will do.No cameras: 1,920 Hz refresh is the floor. Livestream: 3,840 Hz at your working brightness and a 1/16 scan ratio or lower. IMAG close-ups: aim for 7,680 Hz and a processor with genlock. Camera details.
  3. Pick a size and shape that fits your content.Choose a layout at or near 16:9, like 7 by 4 cabinets of 500 mm, or true 16:9 cabinets. Size lyrics for the back row: the farthest seat divided by 200 is the minimum letter height. Shape details.
  4. Match the LED type to where it lives.SMD when it is mounted out of reach. GOB or COB anywhere hands, balls or kids can touch it. SMD, GOB, COB.
  5. Set the budget from real numbers.Most 16 by 9 sanctuary walls land at $40,000 to $80,000 installed. Under $20,000, wait on LED and keep saving. Budget table.
  6. Compare quotes line for line.Same pitch, same specs and the same items included: hanging hardware, power, labor, spares and a delivered price. Use our checklist and see the panel with your own camera before you sign. Questions to ask.

We do steps 1 through 4 with you in a free consult, then price the wall that fits.

Send us your numbers.

Saw a price online, or have a quote in hand? Send it over. We will tell you what it includes, what it leaves out, and what that wall will really cost in your room. No pressure.

Call (918) 526-3939 Send us a message

Go deeper

The details, one topic at a time.

Tap any topic to open it.

Why the same 16 by 9 wall can cost $11,000 or $300,000

Pixels, parts, processor, listing, support and installation, side by side.

Every wall below is 144 square feet. What changes is how many pixels it has, what the panels are built from, what drives them, who stands behind them, and whether anyone installs them.

What changes The $11,000 ad A $60,000 installed wall A $300,000 flagship
Pixels Often P3.9, about 880,000 pixels P2.5 to P2.6, about 2 million pixels P1.2, about 9.3 million pixels, ten times the ad wall
How the LEDs are built SMD with the lowest-cost parts SMD or GOB, sorted and calibrated at the factory COB or flip-chip, the smoothest and toughest surface
On camera “3,840 Hz” claimed at full brightness, scan ratio not stated 3,840 Hz measured. Ask for 1/16 scan or lower 7,680 Hz and up, with camera sync built in
Processor A basic sender box, often HDMI only SDI input and genlock, about $1,750 and up Broadcast-class processing, often $6,500 to $9,000 or more
Calibration Often none listed Factory brightness and color calibration Pixel-level calibration plus low-brightness tuning
Safety listing Often a CE mark only UL or ETL listed UL or ETL listed
Parts and service Parts ship from overseas 2 year warranty with US service centers on the established brand we priced Manufacturer support and US parts
Installed and working No Yes: hanging hardware, power, labor, setup and training Yes
Per square foot About $76 on the listing About $420 installed About $2,080 installed

Same size. Up to ten times the pixels, a different class of parts, processor and calibration, a US safety listing, local support, and a crew that hangs it and makes it work on camera. That is the whole $11,000 to $300,000 story. Most churches do not need the flagship. Almost none are well served by the ad.

Is that $11,000 LED wall worth it? Probably not.

What listing claims really mean, and why saving beats buying cheap.

For a permanent wall in a church or business, the bargain usually is not a bargain. The $11,000 is the price of panels at the factory. Delivered, the same import wall is $20,000 to $35,000. Installed, it is $40,000 to $50,000. The panels themselves may be fine. The problem is everything the listing leaves out, and the claims that sound better than they are. Here is what the common ones usually mean.

What the listing says What it usually means
“Turnkey” Everything needed to light it up is in the box. Nobody builds, hangs, wires or tunes it, and there is no structure to hang it from.
“Plug and play” Someone still has to map the processor, set the resolution and build content for a wall that is often not 16:9.
“3840 Hz, camera ready” or “3,840 to 7,680 Hz” Usually measured at full brightness, and a range is not a promise. Dimmed for a sanctuary, with a high scan ratio, your stream can still show banding, which is stripes where the picture should be smooth, and rolling, which is dark bars crawling up or down the screen.
“5,000 nits” or “ultra bright” Indoors you will run it at a fraction of that. Brightness you cannot use is not a feature, and cheap panels look their worst when dimmed.
“100,000 hour life” That rating is for the LEDs. Power supplies, receiving cards and matching replacement modules usually decide how long the wall lasts.
“Free shipping” Often to a curb or a freight terminal, with duties, tariffs, liftgate and inside delivery on you. Ask whether the price is delivered with duties paid.
“2 year warranty” Usually means shipping failed modules back and waiting. Ask who replaces a dead module before Sunday and where the spares are stocked.
“Certified” Often a CE mark, which is European. A US inspector looks for UL or ETL on the exact model.
“Church package” A sales label. It does not tell you the panel model, the processor, the refresh rate at your brightness or what support looks like.

Why saving for the right wall beats buying the cheap one now:

The installation costs the same

Hanging hardware, power, a lift, cabling and a crew run about $15,000 to $28,000 on a 16 by 9 wall, whichever panels go up. So the cheap panels save less than the ad suggests. Installed, a value import wall is $40,000 to $50,000 and an established brand is $50,000 to $80,000. The real gap is often 25 to 60 percent, not five times.

You cannot upgrade a panel later

Refresh rate and scan ratio are mostly set by the driver chips and LEDs inside the panel. If the wall bands or rolls on your stream, settings only help so much. The real fix is different panels, which means buying the wall again.

Repairs mean waiting

Import parts often come by ocean. On our 2026 quotes that was about a month from Shenzhen to Los Angeles, plus one to two weeks to Tulsa. A dead section on a Saturday stays dead. Modules from a later batch also rarely match the color of the originals.

Short warranties

The import walls we priced in 2026 carried 2 year warranties. You are buying something you expect to use for many years longer than that, so ask what years 3 to 5 cost and where the parts sit.

Buying twice costs the most

Replacing a cheap wall after a few years means paying for panels again and for most of the installation again: the crew, the lift, and often new hanging hardware for different cabinets. One good wall almost always costs less than a cheap wall plus its replacement.

You become the integrator

Structure, power, rigging, setup, calibration and troubleshooting land on your staff or volunteers. And a heavy electrical display hung over people without a UL or ETL listing is exactly what inspectors and insurers ask about.

When a cheap wall can make sense: portable or temporary use, a youth room or side screen where cameras do not matter, a team that has built LED walls before, and a budget that accepts the risk. Even then, buy spares up front and confirm the safety listing and the processor before you order.

Not sure what a price you saw includes? Call (918) 526-3939 or send us a message.

Buy the wall through your integrator, not online

Why one company should design, supply, install and stand behind it.

We strongly recommend buying an LED wall from the integrator who will design and install it, rather than buying panels online and asking someone to make them work. Here is why.

The room picks the wall, not the ad

An integrator measures your seats, sightlines, cameras, structure and power first, then picks the pitch, shape, panels and processor to fit. Buying first locks in mistakes: the wrong pitch, a shape that crops your lyrics, rear-service panels that need to sit tight to a wall, or receiving cards your processor cannot use.

One company owns the result

When the integrator supplies the wall, one company is responsible for the panels, the hanging hardware, the power, the setup, the calibration and the warranty. When something goes wrong, you make one call, not three.

A wall you bought is a pile of unknowns

An installer handed someone else’s panels has to price for what is missing: hanging bars, rated hardware, a processor with SDI and genlock, spares, the panel’s configuration files, and hours of troubleshooting. That often wipes out what the panels saved.

Warranty and freight damage

An installer cannot stand behind panels they did not choose or buy. When the integrator supplies the wall, they receive, inspect and test it before install day and handle warranty claims for you. When you buy, damaged freight and dead modules are your claim to chase.

The price is usually close

On name-brand gear, an integrator’s equipment price is usually at or near the advertised price you would find online, and it comes with design, installation and support. The cheap online walls are cheap because they are different products, not because the integrator is marking up the same one.

Already bought panels? Talk to us before you schedule anything, and we will tell you honestly what it takes to make them work. If you have not bought yet, buy the wall through the integrator who will hang it.

How big is a 16 by 9 foot wall? About nine 75 inch TVs.

The wall measured in TVs, with a to-scale picture.

Most people know what a big TV looks like on a wall. Here is the same LED wall measured in TVs, using the actual screen size of today’s 16:9 TVs.

Nine 75 inch TVs 3 by 3 grid: 16.3 x 9.2 ft. Matches the wall. Four 85 inch TVs 2 by 2 grid: 12.3 x 6.9 ft, about 60 percent.

Dashed orange line: a 16 by 9 foot LED wall, drawn to the same scale as the TVs.

LED wall Same picture area as As one screen
12 ft wide, 11.8 x 6.6 ft, 78 sq ft About 4.7 TVs at 75 inches, or 3.7 at 85 inches 163 inches diagonal
16 x 9 ft, 144 sq ft About 8.6 TVs at 75 inches, or 6.7 at 85 inches 220 inches diagonal
24.6 x 13.1 ft, 323 sq ft About 19 TVs at 75 inches, or 15 at 85 inches 335 inches diagonal
  • A 75 inch TV’s screen is about 65.4 by 36.8 inches. Nine of them in a 3 by 3 grid make a 16.3 by 9.2 foot picture, almost exactly a 16 by 9 foot wall, with two vertical and two horizontal seams crossing it.
  • An 85 inch TV’s screen is about 74.1 by 41.7 inches. Four in a 2 by 2 grid make 12.3 by 6.9 feet, about 60 percent of a 16 by 9 wall. Nine in a 3 by 3 grid make 18.5 by 10.4 feet, bigger than the wall. No grid of 85s lands on 16 by 9.
  • Four 75 inch TVs in a 2 by 2 grid make 10.9 by 6.1 feet, close to a 12 foot wide LED wall.

Why not just hang TVs? On a small budget, a 2 by 2 TV wall can be the right call for now. The tradeoffs: a black cross of seams runs through the middle, right where lyrics and faces sit, about 3/4 inch to 1 1/3 inches wide on the consumer TVs we checked. Some consumer TV warranties are shortened or void in commercial use. And a matching replacement TV usually will not exist a few years from now.

What installation costs, line by line

Panels, hanging hardware, lift, electrical, signal, labor and spares for three wall sizes.

These are the prices a church or business pays, built from our own 2026 quotes and installs and rounded up on purpose so you are not surprised. The small wall is the size of the church walls we priced this fall. The large wall uses the same 15 by 8 cabinet count as a church wall we installed in Iowa. Panel lines cover P2.5 to P3.9 from value import to established brands.

Line item Small wallabout 11.5 x 6.6 ft, 75 sq ft 16 x 9 ft wall144 sq ft Large wallabout 24.6 x 13.1 ft, 323 sq ft
Panels, receiving cards and processor $13,000 to $25,000 $25,000 to $52,000 $47,000 to $110,000, including a larger processor
Hanging hardware: flybars or header bars, rated shackles, strut, chain or wire rope $1,000 to $2,500 $2,000 to $4,000 $3,000 to $8,000, more if engineered steel is needed
Lift rental, delivered $500 to $1,200, a scissor lift $500 to $1,500 $1,200 to $3,000, a larger lift for the week
Electrical $1,000 to $2,500: 2 circuits at 208 V, or 2 to 3 at 120 V $2,500 to $4,000: 2 to 4 circuits at 208 V, or 4 to 6 at 120 V $3,000 to $8,000: 5 to 7 circuits at 208 V, more if the electrical panel needs work
Signal and cabling $500 to $1,000 $500 to $1,500 $1,000 to $2,000
Installation labor $4,000 to $6,000: a crew of 4 to 6 for about a day $7,000 to $12,000: a crew of 4 to 6 for about 2 days $12,000 to $24,000: a crew of 4 to 6 for about a week
Freight, spares and contingency $1,000 to $3,000 $2,500 to $5,000 $3,000 to $10,000
Total installed About $21,000 to $41,000, or $280 to $550 per sq ft About $40,000 to $80,000, or $280 to $555 per sq ft About $70,000 to $165,000, or $215 to $510 per sq ft

Everything except the panel line comes to about $8,000 to $16,000 on the small wall, $15,000 to $28,000 on the 16 by 9, and $23,000 to $55,000 on the large wall. That part does not get cheaper when the panels do. Fine pitch at P1.5 to P1.9 mostly raises the panel line: on the small wall it took the total to about $57,000 to $97,000 in our quotes.

Flown or top hung

Flybars or header bars on top of each column hang from a header, strut or truss tied into the building structure, with rated shackles, clamps, and chain or wire rope. Leave about 6 inches above the wall for the bars and hardware, and have the structure checked. A hung wall that services from the rear needs a gap behind it or a way to lower it. The manufacturer quotes we saw did not include this hardware.

Wall mounted

A frame or brackets fasten to the wall, which needs solid backing: blocking in a stud wall or proper anchors in block. Tight to the wall means you need front-service cabinets. Small frames cost about the same as hanging hardware. Large walls often need a custom steel frame, which is where the cost climbs.

Lifts

A small wall on a flat stage usually needs a scissor lift, which runs about $500 to $1,200 delivered. A large or high wall, or one over seats and steps, can need a bigger lift for the whole week.

Power and weight

The small walls we priced draw up to 3,500 to 3,600 watts and weigh about 410 to 430 pounds. Panels in general run about 5 to 8 pounds per square foot, so a 16 by 9 wall is roughly 750 to 1,100 pounds before the hanging hardware. The large example is roughly 15,000 watts at full white and about 1,850 pounds of cabinets.

Also budget for:

  • A structural check of the wall or ceiling the LED hangs from, by your engineer or ours.
  • Freight, duties and tariffs if a price was quoted at the factory. Ask whether every quote is delivered and duty paid.
  • Spares: 5 to 10 percent extra modules from the same production run, bought with the wall.
  • Content sized for the wall’s exact pixels if the wall is not 16:9.
  • Training so your team can power up, recover a dropped module and recalibrate.
Want these numbers for your room? Call (918) 526-3939 or send us a message.

How many circuits an LED wall needs

Circuit counts at 208 and 120 volts for small, 16 by 9 and large walls.

LED walls run on dedicated circuits from an electrician, not an outlet behind the stage. Use 208 volts when your building has it. Many LED panel power supplies accept 100 to 240 volts, so check the spec sheet, and at 208 volts each 20 amp circuit carries about 73 percent more power than at 120 volts. That means fewer circuits and less wire.

Wall Max draw at full white 208 V, 20 A circuits 120 V, 20 A circuits Also
Small, 75 sq ft 3,400 to 5,300 W 2 2 to 3 1 dedicated 120 V circuit for the processor
16 x 9 ft, 144 sq ft 6,500 to 10,100 W 2 to 4 4 to 6 1 dedicated 120 V circuit for the processor
Large, 323 sq ft 14,500 to 22,600 W 5 to 7 8 to 12 1 dedicated 120 V circuit for the processor
  • How we figured it. Panels drawing 45 to 70 watts per square foot at full white. The walls we priced in 2026 were about 46, and ROE’s Black Pearl BP2V2 is rated 185 watts per panel, about 69. Electricians load circuits that run for hours to 80 percent of the breaker: 1,920 watts on a 120 volt, 20 amp circuit and 3,328 watts on a 208 volt, 20 amp circuit.
  • Receptacles. 208 volt circuits usually end in a NEMA L6-20 twist-lock receptacle, or an L6-30 for a 30 amp circuit, feeding a power distribution box at the wall. 120 volt circuits use NEMA 5-20 receptacles.
  • Small walls do not save circuits at 208 volts. A 3,500 watt wall needs two circuits either way. The savings start at 16 by 9 and grow from there. A large wall at 120 volts takes 8 to 12 circuits, which is why big walls are almost always 208 volts.
  • Your power bill is lower than the maximum suggests. Average draw is usually a third to half of maximum: one wall we priced lists 1,190 watts average against 3,500 maximum, and ROE lists 92 watts average against 185 per panel. Circuits are still sized for the maximum.
  • Check the building first. Many commercial buildings have 208 volt service and some smaller ones do not. Your electrician confirms what you have, whether the panel has room, and what it costs to run.

Which pixel pitch for your room

A quick chart from your closest seat, plus the rules behind it.

The quick chart: measure from the wall to your closest seat that matters.

Closest seat Pitch that looks smooth If you stream, use IMAG or show small text
Under 10 ft, lobbies and retail P1.2 to P1.5 P1.2 or finer
10 to 13 ft P1.5 to P1.9 P1.5
13 to 17 ft P1.9 to P2.6 P1.9
17 to 20 ft P2.6 to P2.9 P2.5 to P2.6
20 to 26 ft P2.9 to P3.9 P2.6 to P2.9
26 to 32 ft P3.9 to P4.8 P2.9 to P3.9
Over 32 ft P4.8 and up P3.9

The middle column uses Barco’s 2 meters per millimeter of pitch, about 6.5 feet per millimeter. The right column goes one step finer, because cameras, IMAG close-ups and lyric text show pixels sooner than faces and video do. Most sanctuaries land between P2.5 and P3.9. The detail behind the chart is below.

Manufacturers publish different rules for how close you can sit to a given pitch, and they can be three times apart for the same panel. That is not a contradiction. They are answering different questions. Here are three common rules side by side, in feet:

Pixel pitch Pixels fadeabout 3 ft per mm Smooth for most peopleBarco, 2 m per mm Invisible at 20/20Planar 10x rule
P1.9 6 ft 12 ft 19 ft
P2.6 8 ft 17 ft 26 ft
P2.9 9 ft 19 ft 29 ft
P3.9 12 ft 26 ft 39 ft
P4.8 14 ft 31 ft 48 ft

The 10x rule is the strictest. It is the distance where even perfect eyesight cannot pick out a pixel, and Planar describes it as an estimate of visual acuity distance. Most people are comfortable well inside it. For most rooms, the middle column is the practical target for your closest seats that matter.

  • Measure from the wall to your front row, and to the seats where people sit most. Design for the people who are actually there each week.
  • Remember text. Lyrics and slides are read, not just watched. Small text at the edge of a coarse wall is the first thing to look rough.
  • Count the camera as a viewer. A camera close to the wall, or zoomed in on someone standing in front of it, can make a coarse pitch look worse and can cause moiré, the shimmering pattern you sometimes see on stream.
  • Stand in front of the actual panel at your actual distance before you buy. A spec sheet cannot show you that.

A quick way to use the middle column: divide the distance from the wall to your front row, in feet, by about 6.5. A front row 20 feet away points to about P3. A front row 13 feet away points to about P2. Lobbies, restaurants and retail are often viewed from much closer, which pushes those walls toward finer pitch and a higher price per square foot.

SMD, GOB or COB

How the LEDs are built changes toughness, repair and price.

These are not brands. They describe how the LEDs are attached to the board, and that changes how tough the wall is, how it gets repaired and what it costs. Ask which one you are being quoted.

Type What it is Toughness and repair Where it fits Cost
SMD, surface mount Each pixel is a tiny packaged LED soldered onto the board. The most common build. Exposed LEDs can be knocked loose by bumps, cleaning or kids. A tech can replace a single LED or swap a module on site. Most church sanctuary and lobby walls at P1.5 and coarser, mounted out of reach. Rental and touring. Lowest
GOB, glue on board An SMD board with a clear resin layer poured over the face. Protected against bumps, dust and moisture. Harder to repair, usually a module swap instead of a single LED. Walls people can touch or bump: kids rooms, hallways, low walls. Also common in rental and touring. Middle
COB, chip on board Bare LED chips mounted straight onto the board and sealed under one smooth surface. The toughest surface. Repairs are usually a module swap or a factory repair. Fine pitch, mostly P1.5 and finer: close viewing, high-end lobbies and broadcast. The smoothest picture with deep blacks. Highest, though the gap narrows at very fine pitch

For most sanctuaries at P2.5 to P3.9, a good SMD wall mounted out of reach is the value choice. Put GOB or COB anywhere hands, balls or kids can reach the wall.

Resolution and panel shape: why most walls are not 16:9

What happens to your lyrics, videos and cameras, and what true 16:9 costs.

Your cameras, videos, lyric software and guest speakers’ slides are all made in 16:9, usually 1920 by 1080 pixels. An LED wall is built from cabinets, and most cabinets are square or 4:3. The wall’s shape and pixel count come from how many cabinets you stack, so a wall often lands near 16:9 instead of exactly on it.

Cabinet size Shape Layouts that land on or near 16:9
500 x 500 mm Square, the most common 7 x 4 is 11.5 x 6.6 ft at 1.75:1, very close. 9 x 5 is 14.8 x 8.2 ft at 1.80:1. Exactly 16:9 only at 16 x 9 cabinets, 26.2 x 14.8 ft.
500 x 1000 mm Tall, common in rental 7 x 2 is 11.5 x 6.6 ft at 1.75:1. Height grows in 3.3 ft steps.
640 x 480 mm 4:3 4 x 3 is exactly 16:9 at 8.4 x 4.7 ft, and 8 x 6 is exactly 16:9 at 16.8 x 9.4 ft.
600 x 337.5 mm, 960 x 540 mm and similar True 16:9 Any equal grid is exactly 16:9. 6 x 6 of the smaller size is 11.8 x 6.6 ft. 4 x 4 of the larger is 12.6 x 7.1 ft.

Resolution is pixels per cabinet times cabinets. A 500 mm cabinet at P2.6 is 192 by 192 pixels, so a 7 by 4 wall is 1,344 by 768 pixels. That is less than a 1080p signal, which is normal for a wall viewed from 20 feet or more. The processor scales your signal to fit.

Near 16:9, like 7 x 4

A 16:9 picture fits with about an inch trimmed off each side, or a thin black line above and below. Nobody in the room will notice. This is the value sweet spot for square cabinets.

Squarer, like 5 x 4

At 8.2 by 6.6 feet, a 16:9 picture either leaves about 30 percent of the wall black in bars above and below, or loses about 20 inches off each side. Lyrics and faces near the edges get cut.

Extra wide, 2:1 and beyond

Wide stage backdrops look dramatic, but 16:9 content only fills the middle. Everything else needs content made for that shape, or a 16:9 window for lyrics and cameras with background around it.

Four ways to handle content that does not match the wall:

  • Fit. The whole picture shows, with black bars where it does not reach. No extra work.
  • Fill. The picture fills the wall and the edges are cut off. No extra work, but text and faces have to stay away from the edges.
  • Stretch. The picture is pulled to fit and everything looks distorted. Never do this.
  • Build for the wall. Templates and graphics are made at the wall’s exact pixel size. It looks the best and takes the most work.

What that looks like week to week. On a near-16:9 wall, almost nothing changes for your team. On a wall that is clearly not 16:9, someone sets your presentation software to the wall’s exact pixel size, rebuilds the lyric, sermon and announcement templates to match, and checks how every source lands. After that it becomes a habit: purchased motion backgrounds, guest speaker slides and announcement videos all arrive in 16:9 and need a check or a resize before Sunday. Camera shots are 16:9 too, so on a wide wall they usually run in a window. A truly custom-shaped wall needs content built for it, which means a designer’s time on every new piece or a library sized for your wall.

The value of true 16:9 cabinets. With 16:9 cabinets, any equal grid is an exact 16:9 wall, so every camera, video and slide fills it with no one thinking about it. In our recent small-wall quotes, the true 16:9 options came in about 35 to 50 percent more per square foot than a near-16:9 wall built from square cabinets. Part of that gap was brand and build quality, not shape alone. For a wall run by volunteers, that simplicity is worth real money. On a tight budget, a square-cabinet layout that lands near 16:9, like 7 by 4, gets most of the benefit for less.

  • Walls grow in whole cabinets. With 500 mm cabinets every step is about 19.7 inches, so the exact size you want may not exist. Check the clear width, the maximum height and the space the hanging hardware adds above the wall.
  • Size your text for the back row. AVIXA’s DISCAS display standard puts the minimum text height at the distance to the farthest seat divided by 200. A back row 60 feet away needs letters about 3.6 inches tall.
  • Put lyrics high on a flat floor. Heads, music stands and the drum cage block the bottom of the wall from many seats.

Cameras and livestream: banding, rolling and refresh rate

What those words mean on your stream, and the refresh rate you need.

Your eyes blend an LED wall into a steady picture. A camera does not. LEDs are dimmed by flashing on and off thousands of times a second, and most panels light only some rows of pixels at any instant. A camera can catch that in the middle. In the room the wall looks perfect. On your livestream it can look like this:

Rolling

Dark lines or bars that crawl slowly up or down the wall in your livestream or in a phone video. It happens when the camera captures the LEDs between flashes.

Banding

Stripes or stair steps where the picture should fade smoothly, such as a sunset background breaking into blocks of color, or a strip of the wall that looks darker or lighter on camera than the rest. It gets worse the more the wall is dimmed.

Moiré

A shimmering, wavy pattern when the camera can make out the grid of pixels. It shows up when a camera is close to the wall or the wall is in sharp focus behind someone.

Refresh rate targets, by how the wall is used:

How the wall is used Minimum Target Also ask for
Viewing only: no cameras, no stream, no phone video 1,920 Hz 3,840 Hz A smooth picture when dimmed
Livestream, recorded services, phones in the room 3,840 Hz, measured at the brightness you run 7,680 Hz Scan ratio of 1/16 or lower, and the wall locked to your 59.94 Hz video feed
IMAG and close camera shots in front of the wall 3,840 Hz at working brightness 7,680 Hz A processor that genlocks to your video system, and a test with your own cameras

If you stream or record services, treat the second row as your floor. The number on a spec sheet is usually measured at full brightness, and the effective refresh drops on dark content and when dimmed, so ask for it at 10 to 20 percent brightness. On a panel we priced in 2026 the maker confirmed 3,840 Hz at full brightness and had no figure for dimmed.

Scan ratio is the other half. It is how many rows of pixels each driver chip handles in turn, written like 1/8 or 1/32. Lower is better on camera because each row spends less time dark. Panels we priced in 2026 ran 1/24 to 1/60, and Planar moved its camera-ready CarbonLight VX 1.9 to 1:8 for exactly this reason.

Practical habits help too: lock the wall to your 59.94 Hz video feed, set camera shutters to 1/60 or 1/120 and control exposure with iris or ND, keep the wall slightly out of focus behind people, and test with your own cameras before you sign. If a seller will not let you shoot their panel with your camera, that tells you something.

Specs to ask for: good, better, best

Real examples for processors, cards, refresh, scan and more. NovaStar or Brompton explained.

Product names change, but these show what entry, solid and top-tier answers look like, so you can recognize them on a quote. If you stream, the middle column is your floor.

Spec Entry: fine without cameras Solid: most churches that stream Top tier: broadcast and close cameras
Processor NovaStar VX400 Pro: SDI input and up to 2.6 million pixels, but no genlock. NovaStar VX600 Pro: SDI input with loop, genlock and up to 3.9 million pixels, about $1,750. NovaStar MX40 Pro with A10s Pro cards, listed around $8,900, or Brompton Tessera S8 or SX40 with R2 or R2+ cards. Both add camera tools.
Receiving card, inside each panel NovaStar A5s Plus: works, but without NovaStar’s camera features. A card your processor fully supports, named on the quote with its firmware. NovaStar A10s Pro, needed for Frame Rate Adaptive, Shutter Fit and full grayscale calibration, or Brompton R2 or R2+, needed for ShutterSync and Extended Bit Depth.
Driver chips Model not stated. Ask. Model named on the spec sheet, with its grayscale bit depth. A model on the processor maker’s supported list, such as Chipone ICND2055 or ICND2065 or Macroblock MBI5264 for NovaStar’s frame rate tools.
Refresh rate 1,920 Hz 3,840 Hz measured at 20 percent brightness 7,680 Hz. ROE Visual’s Black Pearl BP2V2 is rated at 7,680 Hz.
Scan ratio 1/24 to 1/60 1/16 1/8, like Planar’s CarbonLight VX 1.9
Grayscale 13 bit 14 to 16 bit, with the dimmed figure stated 16 bit, like the BP2V2, plus processor features such as Brompton Extended Bit Depth or NovaStar full grayscale calibration
Pixel pitch Whatever was on sale From the closest seat chart One step finer than the chart for close cameras and small text
Brightness “5,000 nits” claims for an indoor wall 600 to 1,500 nits rated, judged at 10 to 30 percent Same rating, plus low-brightness calibration done at the factory
Viewing angle Not stated 140 degrees or wider each way 140 degrees or wider, with color shift off-angle stated
Service access Rear service only Front service, needed against a wall or when top hung with no gap Front service with the removal tool and spares on site
LED type SMD mounted out of reach SMD out of reach, GOB anywhere people can touch it COB or flip-chip at P1.5 and finer, like Samsung’s The Wall at P1.26
Safety listing CE only. Walk away for a permanent install. UL or ETL listing for the exact model UL or ETL listed, with a US service center
Spares None included 2 percent included free 5 to 10 percent from the same production run
Warranty and parts Parts ship from overseas 2 years with US service centers Longer coverage in writing, with US parts stock and a repair turnaround in days

How to tell one processor from another, NovaStar or Brompton:

  • Inputs. Church video runs on SDI. A box with only HDMI, or a media player built for signage, is the wrong tool for a live service.
  • Genlock. It locks the wall to your video system. The NovaStar VX600 Pro has it. The VX400 Pro does not.
  • Camera tools. NovaStar’s COEX processors such as the MX40 Pro add Frame Rate Adaptive and Shutter Fit. Brompton’s Tessera processors add ShutterSync, which tunes the wall’s refresh to your camera settings, and Extended Bit Depth for clean dark scenes. Brompton is widely used in broadcast and film, and its SX40 won an Emmy for its role in LED virtual production.
  • The receiving card decides what you get. Those tools only work when the panel maker ships the matching card inside every panel: A10s Pro for NovaStar’s camera tools, R2 or R2+ for Brompton. A great processor on panels with a basic card still performs like a basic system. Ask which card is inside before you compare processors.
  • Capacity. The processor has to drive every pixel. A 16 by 9 wall at P2.6 is about 2 million pixels and fits a VX400 Pro or VX600 Pro. The same wall at P1.5 is about 6 million pixels and needs a larger processor.
Got a spec sheet you want a second opinion on? Call (918) 526-3939 or send us a message.

Questions to ask any integrator or seller

A checklist with the answers to look for, and the red flags.

  • What is the exact panel model and who makes it? Get the spec sheet.
  • What is the UL or ETL listing for that model? A listing for the exact model, not just a CE mark.
  • What is the refresh rate at 20 percent brightness with a 59.94 Hz input? 3,840 Hz or better, 7,680 Hz if you stream.
  • What is the scan ratio? 1/16 or lower if cameras are involved.
  • Is it SMD, GOB or COB? GOB or COB if people can touch it.
  • Which processor and receiving cards? Does the processor take SDI and genlock? Yes to both if you have a video system.
  • What is the wall’s resolution and shape? Know how 1920 by 1080 content will fit before you sign.
  • What are the maximum and average watts, and how many circuits? About 2 to 4 at 208 volts for a 16 by 9 wall.
  • What is the total weight with hanging hardware, and who checks our structure? A named person, before the order.
  • Does the price include flybars or header bars, shackles, strut, chain or wire rope? If not, add them.
  • How many spare modules, and from the same production run? 5 to 10 percent.
  • What is the warranty, where are US parts stocked, and how many days is a repair? Get it in writing.
  • Is the price delivered with freight, duties and tariffs paid, and how many days is it good for? Our 2026 factory quotes held for 7 to 30 days.
  • Can we see this panel at our distance and shoot it with our camera? Yes.

Red flags: a price per panel with no processor, no listing number, no refresh rate at operating brightness, no scan ratio, no hanging hardware, no spares, no named service contact, or a seller who will not put the panel in front of your camera.

Words you will hear, in plain English

Pitch, nits, processor, scan ratio, genlock and more.

LED wall
A big screen built from many smaller panels fitted together like tiles. No seams once it is set up right.
Cabinet and module
A cabinet is one tile of the wall, often about 20 by 20 inches. A module is a smaller board inside it that holds the LEDs. Modules are what get swapped when pixels die.
Pixel pitch, like P2.6
The distance between pixels in millimeters. A smaller number means more pixels, a sharper picture up close, and more money.
Nits
Brightness. Indoor walls are rated around 600 to 1,500 nits and usually run at a fraction of that.
Processor
The box between your computer or video switcher and the wall. It sizes the picture for the wall and keeps it in time with your cameras.
Refresh rate
How many times per second the LEDs redraw, in hertz (Hz). Your eyes barely notice it. Cameras do.
Scan ratio, like 1/16
How many rows of LEDs share one driver chip and take turns lighting. Lower is better on camera.
Banding
Stripes or stair steps where the picture should fade smoothly. Worst when dimmed or on camera. More here.
Rolling
Dark bars that crawl up or down the wall on your livestream while it looks fine in the room.
Moiré
A shimmering, wavy pattern on camera when the camera can make out the grid of pixels. Common when a camera is close to the wall.
IMAG
Image magnification: putting a live camera shot of the speaker or band up on the screen.
Genlock
Locking the wall’s timing to your video system so cameras see a steady picture.
SMD, GOB and COB
Three ways the LEDs are built onto the board. They change durability, repair and price. Compared below.
UL or ETL listing
US safety certification for electrical equipment. Inspectors look for it on the exact model.
Front service
The wall can be repaired from the front. Needed when it sits tight against a wall.
Calibration
Matching brightness and color across every module so the wall looks like one even screen instead of a patchwork.
Integrator
The company that designs, supplies, installs and supports the whole system, from the hanging hardware to the processor.
Delivered, duties paid
A price that includes freight, import duties and tariffs to your door. Often written DDP. Factory prices usually are not.

For lobbies, restaurants, retail and event spaces

What changes when the wall is not in a sanctuary.

Everything above applies to businesses too, with a few differences. People stand closer to a lobby or retail wall, often 5 to 10 feet away, which pushes toward finer pitch and a higher price per square foot. Walls near windows need more brightness to fight daylight. Walls that run 12 to 16 hours a day need panels and power supplies rated for that duty, and good airflow behind them.

For screens smaller than about 110 inches, an LED wall is often the wrong tool. A large commercial display or an all-in-one LED unit can cost far less and is simpler to own. Outdoor walls are a different product with weather sealing, much higher brightness, wind loading and permits, and they cost more than the indoor ranges on this page.

The questions to ask are the same. Get a line-item quote, see the panel at your distance, and know who services it.

Common questions

Short answers to what people ask us most.

How much does a church LED wall cost?

Installed, a 16 by 9 foot indoor wall usually costs about $40,000 to $80,000 with P2.5 to P3.9 panels, $100,000 to $165,000 at P1.5 to P1.9, and up to $300,000 or more for flagship fine pitch. That is roughly $280 to $2,100 per square foot. A 12 foot wide wall starts around $20,000 installed.

How do I pick the best LED wall for my church?

Measure the distance to your closest seat and divide by 6.5 to get the coarsest pixel pitch that looks smooth. Decide what cameras will do: 3,840 Hz refresh and a 1/16 scan ratio or lower if you stream, 7,680 Hz for IMAG close-ups. Pick a layout at or near 16:9, choose SMD out of reach or GOB or COB within reach, set the budget, then compare line-item quotes with the same specs and inclusions.

Is that $11,000 LED wall worth it?

For a permanent church or business wall, usually not. The $11,000 is the price of panels at the factory. Delivered with a processor, freight and duties, that wall costs $20,000 to $35,000, and installed it is $40,000 to $50,000. Saving for an established brand with a safety listing, US service and good camera performance usually costs less than buying a cheap wall and replacing it.

Why can the same size LED wall cost $11,000 or $300,000?

The $11,000 is factory panels with nothing installed. A $300,000 wall of the same 144 square feet has up to ten times the pixels, COB or flip-chip LEDs, broadcast-class processing, pixel-level calibration, a US safety listing, manufacturer support and full installation.

What do banding and rolling mean on an LED wall?

Rolling is dark lines or bars that crawl up or down the wall on a livestream or phone video while the wall looks fine in the room. Banding is stripes or stair steps where the picture should fade smoothly, or a strip of the wall that looks darker on camera. Both come from refresh rate, scan ratio and how the wall behaves when dimmed.

What refresh rate do we need?

1,920 Hz is the minimum only if no camera ever sees the wall. For livestreams, recorded services and IMAG, treat 3,840 Hz measured at the brightness you will run as the minimum and 7,680 Hz as the target, with a scan ratio of 1/16 or lower and a processor that locks to your cameras.

What pixel pitch does a church need?

Divide the distance from the wall to your front row, in feet, by about 6.5. A front row 20 feet away points to about P3, and 13 feet points to about P2. Go one step finer if you stream, use IMAG or show small text. Most sanctuaries land between P2.5 and P3.9.

How many circuits does an LED wall need?

A 16 by 9 foot wall draws about 6,500 to 10,000 watts at full white. That is 2 to 4 dedicated 20 amp circuits at 208 volts, or 4 to 6 at 120 volts, plus one 120 volt circuit for the processor. A small 75 square foot wall needs 2 circuits, and a large 323 square foot wall needs 5 to 7 at 208 volts.

What is the difference between SMD, GOB and COB?

SMD is individual LEDs soldered to the board: the most common, cheapest and easiest to repair. GOB is SMD with a clear resin coat for protection from bumps and moisture. COB is bare LED chips sealed under one surface: the toughest and best for fine pitch, and the most expensive.

Should we buy an LED wall online and have an integrator install it?

We strongly recommend against it. Buy the wall from the integrator who designs and installs it, so one company owns the panels, hanging hardware, power, setup and warranty. An installer handed someone else’s panels has to price for missing hardware, the wrong processor, no spares and troubleshooting time, which often wipes out what the panels saved.

Is a Brompton processor better than NovaStar?

They serve different levels. Brompton Tessera processors such as the S8 and SX40 are built for broadcast and film, with camera tools like ShutterSync and Extended Bit Depth, and need Brompton R2 or R2+ cards in the panels. NovaStar ranges from entry boxes like the VX400 Pro, which has no genlock, to the VX600 Pro with SDI and genlock, to the MX40 Pro, which adds camera tools with A10s Pro cards. For most churches that stream, a processor with SDI and genlock is the floor.

How many TVs equal a 16 by 9 foot LED wall?

About nine 75 inch TVs in a 3 by 3 grid, which makes a 16.3 by 9.2 foot picture. In picture area it equals about 6.7 TVs at 85 inches, but no grid of 85s matches the shape. As one screen it would be 220 inches diagonal.

How much does it cost to install an LED wall?

Beyond the panels and processor, plan on hanging hardware, a lift, electrical, signal cabling and installation labor. That adds roughly $8,000 to $16,000 on a 75 square foot wall, $15,000 to $28,000 on a 16 by 9 wall, and $23,000 to $55,000 on a 323 square foot wall.

Should we choose LED or a projector?

LED wins in bright rooms, for IMAG and on camera, and it holds up longer. A good projector and screen can still be the right call in a room with controlled light and a tight budget. The honest answer depends on your room’s light and how you use the screen.

Have a question we did not answer? Call (918) 526-3939 or send us a message.

Where these numbers come from

Our 2026 manufacturer quotes and published manufacturer sources.

  1. Installed and delivered prices, scan ratios, bit depths, power, weight, warranties, shipping times, quote validity and tariff terms: Limitless AVL 2026 quotes from INFiLED, OHR LED and other manufacturers, priced at what a customer pays. Install line items, lift rental and labor ranges are from our own projects. No dealer costs are published here.
  2. Published turnkey package prices for LED Nation walls: B&H Photo, LED display video walls.
  3. Flagship pricing check, Samsung The Wall All-in-One 110 inch, P1.26: Samsung authorized dealer listing.
  4. Panel weight, max and average power, 7,680 Hz refresh, 16 bit grayscale, 1,500 nits and 140 degree viewing angle: ROE Visual, Black Pearl BP2V2 brochure.
  5. Pixel pitch and visual acuity: Planar, What is Pixel Pitch. Scan ratio on camera: Planar, Lower Scan Means Higher Performance for On-Camera LED.
  6. Viewing distance of 2 meters per millimeter of pitch: Barco, Pixel pitch and viewing distance.
  7. Refresh rate for everyday viewing versus filming and live streaming: LianTronics and LED Wall Central, house of worship refresh rates.
  8. SMD, GOB and COB construction, durability, repair and cost: LED Wall Central, LED technology comparison, INFiLED WT series COB and MIP at InfoComm 2026 and Jupiter Systems, COB vs SMD.
  9. NovaStar processors and cards: VX400 Pro specifications, ADJ, NovaStar VX600 Pro specifications, MX40 Pro at B&H, MX40 Pro listing, NovaStar A10s Pro specifications and the NovaStar COEX system manual for supported driver chips.
  10. Brompton Tessera ShutterSync, Extended Bit Depth, R2 and R2+ cards and the Emmy for the SX40: American Society of Cinematographers, Brompton Technology, Tessera v3.4, TPi, ShutterSync and PLSN, Tessera SX40 Emmy.
  11. Low-brightness grayscale performance: Christie, VividLife.
  12. UL or ETL listing and why CE does not count with a US inspector: Digital Signage Today, October 2026.
  13. Loading continuous circuits to 80 percent of the breaker rating: NFPA 70, National Electrical Code, section 210.20(A).
  14. Minimum text height: AVIXA, ANSI/AVIXA V202.01 Display Image Size for 2D Content (DISCAS).
  15. TV screen sizes: width and height of a 16:9 screen from its diagonal. A 75 inch screen is 65.4 by 36.8 inches and an 85 inch screen is 74.1 by 41.7 inches.

Want a real number for your wall?

We will measure your room, check your sightlines and cameras, and give you a line-item number before you commit to anything.

Book a Free Consult Call (918) 526-3939

Limitless AVL

Audio • Video • Lighting • Integration

★★★★★ 5.0 · 20+ Google reviews

Contact

(918) 526-3939info@limitlessavl.com8718 E 41st St, Tulsa, OK 74145

Follow us

Book a Free Consult

Book